Home | Log In

Oceti Sakowin: The People of the Seven Council Fires (Introduction)

Download this video

Date Created 3/27/2012 10:46:14 AM
Grade Level 3-5
Category Social Studies

Supporting Materials & Additional Resources

OcetiSakowinAmendments1.pdf Amendments (Suggested Changes)
OSEUSversionSDPB.pdf Oceti Sakowin Essential Understandings and Standards
OSEUSversionSDPB.docx Oceti Sakowin Essential Understandings and Standards
Ocheti workshop guide final.pdf Workshop Guide for Teachers
Video Courtesy: South Dakota Public Broadcsting


South Dakota DOE - Oceti Sakowin Essential Understandings and Standards (Introduction)

Video clip includes the prologue and chapters 1&2.

Chapter 1: We call Ourselves the Oyate - The Oyate are the native people of the upper Midwest, made up of seven tribes and three language (Lakota, Nakota, Dakota) groups.

Chapter 2 - The Seven Council Fires: The seven tribes routinely came together to maintain relationships. (Website)

For six-hundred years we have lived under the misconception that Columbus discovered America. What he did was stumble on a land already occupied by many people and many nations. In the center of that land were a people who call themselves Oyate: “the People”. This is their story, in their words. (Entire Program)

Oceti Sakowin: The People of the Seven Council Fires, offers a broad overview of the Dakota, Lakota, and Nakota people in South Dakota. Its purpose is to provide a brief introduction to and history of the tribes in the state and their traditional way of life from a tribal perspective.

The Oceti Sakowin program is meant to be used in in-service situations to promote strategic thinking about how to address the specific needs of Native American students as well as curriculum-level thinking and planning about when, where, and what to teach. The purpose of the guide is to offer workshop facilitators a variety of options for using the program in teacher workshops. (Workshop Guide)

Key Concepts
The dominant Western society’s view of Native American history and culture is sometimes in conflict with Native Americans’ own sense of their story. While modern science suggests that the Oyate people migrated to the area that became South Dakota, their traditional beliefs have them originating in this area. The original native people of South Dakota know themselves as the Oyate. The Oyate are composed of three major groups: Lakota, Dakota, and Nakota. Seven tribes comprise those three major groups: Mdewakantonwan, Ihanktonwan, Ihanktonwanna, Sisitonwan, Tetonwan, Wahpetonwan, and Wahpekute. The Oyate people passed on their culture, beliefs, and traditions from generation to generation orally. Their language and stories were not recorded until the late nineteenth century. The Oyate have a rich spiritual life that is still widely practiced through several rituals and that is based in a strong sense of harmony with nature and each other. Oyate groups were organized according to consistent social and gender roles. The Oyate people organized society around extensive kinship systems called tiospaye.

(Cheyenne River, Clifford Canku, Craig Howe, Native American Indian, Jerome Kills Small, language, Ione Quigley, Albert White Hat, SR., Lakota Dancers from Wacipi, Curtis Collection, Lakota Warriors, Bear Butte, Sioux, Lakota, Dakota, Nakota, Culture, miscommunication, Europeans, dialect, Ojibwa, Cree, Nadouessi, snakes people, Nadouessioux, interpreter, misunderstandings, Rosebud Sioux Tribe, OSEUS, OSEUS1, OSEUS2, OSEUS3, OSEUS4, OSEUS5, OSEUS6, OSEUS7)

Keyword Search


Grade Level

South Dakota Public Broadcasting
Education and Outreach Department
(800) 456-0766 | Edservices@sdpb.org